Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI)

Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI) Program

What is a TBI?

A traumatic brain injury (TBI) can happen when there is sudden trauma that causes severe damage to the brain. Common causes of TBI include falls, automobile accidents, and sports injuries. There are many different names for TBI such as concussion, Shaken Baby Syndrome, head injury, or anoxia (loss of oxygen) due to trauma. Studies show that an estimated 3.2 million Americans have a long-term need for help to perform activities of daily living as a result of a TBI.[1]

TBI can affect many parts of a person's life. People living with TBI and their families often require a range of services and supports. Individual needs are different and can change over time, so it is important that systems provide person-centered services and supports.

About the TBI State Implementation Partnership Grant Program

The TBI State Implementation Partnership Grant Program provides funding to help states increase access to rehabilitation and other services for individuals with TBI. This grant program is one component of the federal TBI Program, which is expected to:

  • Help states expand and improve state and local capability so individuals with TBI and their families have better access to comprehensive and coordinated services;

  • Generate support from local and private sources for sustainability of funded projects after federal support terminates. This is done through state legislative, regulatory, or policy changes that promote the integration of TBI-related services into state service delivery systems; and

  • Encourage systems change activities so that individual states can 1) evaluate their current structures and policies and 2) improve their systems as needed to better meet the needs of individuals with TBI and their families.

TBI Programs Transition to ACL

The TBI Reauthorization Act of 2014 allowed the Department of Health and Human Services Secretary to review oversight of the federal TBI Program and reconsider which administration should lead it. The Secretary found that the federal TBI Programs' goals closely align with ACL's mission to advance policy and implement programs that support the rights of older Americans and people with disabilities to live in their communities. As a result, the federal TBI Program moved from the Health Resources and Services Administration to ACL on Oct. 1, 2015.

State Grantee Information

Grants to States

Federal TBI Program grants to states have undergone several changes since the TBI Act of 1996 mandated the program. The most recent state grants were awarded in 2014 and require that grant activities increase access to rehabilitation and other services. Specifically, the states must address four barriers to needed services by:

  • Screening to identify individuals with TBI;

  • Building a trained TBI workforce by providing professional training;

  • Providing information about TBI to families and referrals to appropriate service providers; and

  • Facilitating access to needed services through resource facilitation.

Implementation Partnership Grants (IPGs) cannot be used to support primary injury prevention initiatives, research initiatives, or the provision of direct services. Funds may be used, however, to educate the public about the causes, symptoms, and treatment of TBI.

IPGs are currently available for up to four years and up to $250,000 per year for states and up to $100,000 per year for U.S. territories.

Between 1997 and 2013, 48 states, two territories, and the District of Columbia received at least one state agency grant. As of October 2016, 19 states receive funding for IPGs.

Communication to Grantees

TBI Coordinating Center

The TBI Coordinating Center helps demonstrate the federal TBI Program’s success in providing long-term benefits to public health and provides grantees access to resources that will help them build partnerships, promote positive outcomes, increase access and build capacity.

The TBI Coordinating Center:

  • Provides grantees with individualized technical assistance to help plan and develop effective programs that improve access to health and other services for individuals with TBI and their families;

  • Shares promising practices and lessons learned on implementing project activities and creating and/or incorporating TBI services, funding, etc.;

  • Communicates TBI-related information and research findings;

  • Offers best practices and tools for grantees to conduct state needs and resource assessments; and

  • Responds to questions about the federal TBI Program and facilitates participation in program-related events.

Legislation

Recognizing the large number of individuals and families struggling to access appropriate and community-based services, Congress authorized the federal TBI Program in the TBI Act of 1996 (PL 104-166). The TBI Act of 1996 launched an effort to conduct expanded studies and to establish innovative programs for TBI. The Act gave the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) authority to establish a grant program for states to assist it in addressing the needs of individuals with TBI and their families. The TBI Act also delegated responsibilities in research to the National Institutes of Health, and prevention and surveillance to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

The Traumatic Brain Injury Act of 2008 (P.L. 110-206) reauthorized the programs of the TBI Act of 1996. The 2000 Amendments (PL 106-310—Title XIII of the Children’s Health Act) recognized the importance of protection and advocacy (P&A) services for individuals with TBI and their families by authorizing HRSA to make grants to federally mandated state protection and advocacy systems. As a result of the TBI Reauthorization Act of 2014, the TBI Program transitioned from HRSA to ACL on October 1, 2015. The fiscal year 2015 appropriation was $9.321M.

State Program Contacts

Alabama

Grantee: Alabama Department of Rehabilitation Services
Project: Expanding the Alabama System of Care for People with TBI
Fact Sheet (PDF, 171KB)

Contacts:
Maria Crowley, 205-290-4590, maria.crowley@rehab.alabama.gov 
Augusta Cash, awcash@bellsouth.net

Alaska

Grantee: Alaska Department of Health and Social Services
Project: Alaska TBI Project
Fact Sheet (PDF, 159KB)

Contacts:
Jetta Whittaker, 907-465-1605, jetta.whittaker@alaska.gov 
Dee Grubs, 907-465-3358, dee.grubbs@alaska.gov

Arizona

Grantee: Arizona Department of Economic Security
Project: Arizona Transition Program for Youth with TBI
Fact Sheet (PDF, 159KB)

Contact:
Ann Tarpy, 602-774-9147, atarpy@azdes.gov

Colorado

Grantee: Colorado Department of Human Services
Project: Colorado Brain Injury Program
Fact Sheet (PDF, 157KB)

Contacts:
Judy Dettmer, 303-866-4085, judy.dettmer@state.co.us 
Regina Rodriguez, 303-866-4779, regina.rodriguez@state.co.us

Idaho

Grantee: Idaho State University—Institute of Rural Health
Fact Sheet (PDF, 180KB)

Contact:
Russell Spearman, 208-373-1773, spearuss@isu.edu

Indiana

Grantee: Indiana Department of Correction
Project: Traumatic Brain Injury State Implementation Partnership Grant Program
Fact Sheet (PDF, 173KB)

Contacts:
Frances Osburn, 317-232-5711, fosburn@idoc.in.gov 
Lisa Osterman, 317-423-1770, losterman@communitysolutionsinc.net 
Lena Hackett, 317-423-1770, lena@communitysolutionsinc.net

Iowa

Grantee: Iowa Department of Public Health
Fact Sheet (PDF, 157KB)

Contacts:
Maggie Ferguson, 515-281-8465, maggie.ferguson@idph.iowa.gov 
Kathy Stone, 515-281-8021, kathy.stone@idph.iowa.gov

Maine

Grantee: Maine Office of Aging and Disability Services
Project: State of Maine TBI Implementation Partnership Grant
Fact Sheet (PDF, 112KB)

Contact:
Kristen Capeless, 207-287-6656, kirsten.capeless@maine.gov

Massachusetts

Grantee: Massachusetts Rehabilitation Commission
Project: Statewide Head Injury Program: Improving MA Systems of Care for Elders Sustaining a TBI Project
Fact Sheet (PDF, 151KB)

Contacts:
Gabby Lawrence-Soto, 617-204-3662, Gabriela.Lawrence-Soto@MassMail.State.MA.US 
Nicky Osborne, 617-204-3620, nicky.osborne@state.ma.us

Missouri

Grantee: Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, Division of Community and Public Health
Project: Missouri TBI Project
Fact Sheet (PDF, 97KB)

Contacts:
Venice Wood, 573-751-6446, venice.wood@health.mo.gov 
Dean Anderson, 573-751-6423, dean.andersen@health.mo.gov

Nebraska

Grantee: Nebraska  Vocational Rehabilitation and Brain Injury Advisory Council
Project: Access 4 All
Fact Sheet (PDF, 159KB)

Contacts:
Keri Bennett, 308-865-5012, keri.bennett@nebraska.gov
Tresa Christensen, 308-865-5023, tresa.christensen@nebraska.gov

New Hampshire

Grantee: New Hampshire Bureau of Developmental Services
Project: TBI Playbook
Fact Sheet (PDF, 158KB)

Contacts:
John Capucho, 603-271-5035, jcapuco@dhhs.state.nh.us 
Steve Wade, 603-225-8400, steve@bianh.org 
Ellen Edgerly, 603-332-9891, ellenedge@metrocast.net 
Lynne Fleming, 603-496-8937, CapitalkidsOT@comcast.net

New Mexico

Grantee: New Mexico Human Services Dept.
Project: Traumatic Brain Injury State Implementation Partnership Grant Program
Fact Sheet (PDF, 161KB)

Contacts:
Linda Gillet, 505-827-7218, LindaB.Gillet@state.nm.us

New York

Grantee: New York Department of Health, Division of Long Term Care
Project: New York State Traumatic Brain Injury Program
Fact Sheet (PDF, 145KB)

Contacts:
Helen Hines, 518-474-9480, helen.hines@health.ny.gov 
Mark Kissinger, 518-402-5673, mark.kissinger@health.ny.gov 
David Hoffman, 518-408-1600, david.hoffman@health.ny.gov

North Carolina

Grantee: NC Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Mental Health
Project: NC Primary Health & Behavioral Health Partnerships & Training
Fact Sheet (PDF, 94KB)

Contact:
Scott Pokorny, 919-715-2255, Scott.Pokorny@dhhs.nc.gov

Ohio

Grantee: Ohio Valley Center for Brain Injury Prevention & Rehabilitation
Project: Ohio Brain Injury Program
Fact Sheet (PDF, 160KB)

Contact:
Monica Lichi, 614-293-3802, monica.lichi@osumc.edu

Pennyslvania

Grantee: Pennsylvania Department of Health
Project: Pennsylvania TBI Program
Fact Sheet (PDF, 223KB)

Contacts:
Carolyn Cass, 717-772-2762, ccass@pa.gov 
Tara Landis, 717-772-2762, talandis@pa.gov 
Julie Hohney, jhohney@pa.gov

Tennessee

Grantee: Tennessee Department of Health
Project: Project BRAIN-ET (Education and Transition)
Fact Sheet (PDF, 159KB)

Contacts:
Jean Doster, 615-741-1230, jean.doster@tn.gov 
Paula Denslow, 615-383-9442 x8616
paula_d@tndisability.org

Virginia

Grantee: Virginia Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services
Project: Facilitating Access to Care and Enhancing Services (FACES) in Virginia
Fact Sheet (PDF, 159KB)

Contacts:
Patti Goodall, 804-662-7615, patti.goodall@dars.virginia.gov 
Donna Cantrell, 804-662-7069, Donna.Cantrell@dars.virginia.gov

West Virginia

Grantee: Center for Excellence in Disabilities (CED) at West Virginia University (WVU)
Project: TBI Implementation Partnership Grant Program
Fact Sheet (PDF, 174KB)

Contacts:
Teresa McCourt, 304-290-1380, tmccourt@hsc.wvu.edu 
Bonnie Hicks, 877-724-8244, bjhicks@hsc.wvu.edu


[1] Current Centers for Disease Control and Prevention estimates (Selassie et al., 2009) include only TBI emergency department visits, hospitalizations, and deaths in the United States (2002-2006). In the Children's Health Act of 2000, Congress recognized that the estimated figure of Americans living with TBI-related disability is an under count. Estimates fail to capture individuals who have visited physician's offices, individuals who have not sought treatment for a head injury, state level TBI data, or TBIs counted from federal, military or Veterans Affairs hospitals.

Last modified on 04/30/2017