Click here for emergency preparedness and hurricane response information

Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI)

Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI) State Partnership Grant Program

What is a TBI?

A traumatic brain injury (TBI) can happen when an external force causes severe damage to the brain. Common causes of TBI include falls, automobile accidents, and sports injuries. There are many different names for TBI such as concussion, Shaken Baby Syndrome, head injury, or anoxia (loss of oxygen) due to trauma. Data from NIDILRR-supported research finds 1.56 million TBIs are sustained in one year. 

TBI can affect many parts of a person's life. People living with TBI and their families often require a range of services and supports. Individual needs are different and can change over time, so it is important that systems provide person-centered services and supports.

Other Resources:

About the TBI State Partnership Grant Program

The TBI State Partnership Grant Program provides funding to help states increase access to services and supports for individuals with TBI throughout the lifetime. This grant program is one component of the federal TBI Program, along with Protection & Advocacy, which is expected to:

  • Help states expand and improve state and local capability so individuals with TBI and their families have better access to comprehensive and coordinated services.

  • Generate support from local and private sources for sustainability of funded projects after federal support terminates. This is done through state legislative, regulatory, or policy changes that promote the integration of TBI-related services into state service delivery systems.

  • Encourage systems change activities so that individual states can 1) evaluate their current structures and policies and 2) improve their systems as needed to better meet the needs of individuals with TBI and their families.

Authorizing Legislation

See this page for information about the Traumatic Brain Injury Reauthorization Act of 2014.

TBI Programs Transition to ACL

The TBI Reauthorization Act of 2014 allowed the Department of Health and Human Services Secretary to review oversight of the federal TBI Program and reconsider which administration should lead it. With support from TBI stakeholders, the Secretary found that the federal TBI Programs' goals closely align with ACL's mission to advance policy and implement programs that support the rights of older Americans and people with disabilities to live in their communities. As a result, the federal TBI Program moved from the Health Resources and Services Administration to ACL on Oct. 1, 2015.

State Grantee Information

Grants to States

Federal TBI Program grants to states have undergone several changes since the TBI Act of 1996 mandated the program. The most recent state grants were awarded in 2014 and require that grant activities increase access to rehabilitation and other services. Specifically, the states must address four barriers to needed services by:

  • Screening to identify individuals with TBI

  • Building a trained TBI workforce by providing professional training

  • Providing information about TBI to families and referrals to appropriate service providers

  • Facilitating access to needed services through resource facilitation

State Partnership Grants (SPGs) cannot be used to support primary injury prevention initiatives, research initiatives, or the provision of direct services. Funds may be used, however, to educate the public about the causes, symptoms, and treatment of TBI.

Between 1997 and 2013, 48 states, two territories, and the District of Columbia received at least one state agency grant. As of October 2016, 19 states receive funding for SPGs.

TBI Coordinating Center

The TBI Coordinating Center helps demonstrate the federal TBI Program’s success in providing long-term benefits to public health and provides grantees access to resources that will help them build partnerships, promote positive outcomes, increase access, and build capacity.

The TBI Coordinating Center:

  • Provides grantees with individualized technical assistance to help plan and develop effective programs that improve access to health and other services for individuals with TBI and their families

  • Shares promising practices and lessons learned on implementing project activities and creating and/or incorporating TBI services, funding, etc.

  • Communicates TBI-related information and research findings

  • Offers best practices and tools for grantees to conduct state needs and resource assessments

  • Responds to questions about the federal TBI Program and facilitates participation in program-related events

Legislation

Recognizing the large number of individuals and families struggling to access appropriate and community-based services, Congress authorized the federal TBI Program in the TBI Act of 1996 (PL 104-166). The TBI Act of 1996 launched an effort to conduct expanded studies and to establish innovative programs for TBI. The Act gave the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) authority to establish a grant program for states to assist it in addressing the needs of individuals with TBI and their families. The TBI Act also delegated responsibilities in research to the National Institutes of Health, and prevention and surveillance to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

The Traumatic Brain Injury Act of 2008 (P.L. 110-206) reauthorized the programs of the TBI Act of 1996. The 2000 Amendments (PL 106-310—Title XIII of the Children’s Health Act) recognized the importance of protection and advocacy (P&A) services for individuals with TBI and their families by authorizing HRSA to make grants to federally mandated state protection and advocacy systems. As a result of the TBI Reauthorization Act of 2014, the TBI Program transitioned from HRSA to ACL on October 1, 2015. The fiscal year 2015 appropriation was $9.321 million.

State Program Contacts

Alabama

Grantee: Alabama Department of Rehabilitation Services
Project: Expanding the Alabama System of Care for People with TBI

Contacts:
Maria Crowley, 205-290-4590, maria.crowley@rehab.alabama.gov 

Alaska

Grantee: Alaska Department of Health and Social Services
Project: Alaska TBI Project

Contacts:
Lisa Morley, (907) 465-4996 or 1-800-465-3165, lisa.morley@alaska.gov 

Arizona

Grantee: Arizona Department of Economic Security
Project: Arizona Transition Program for Youth with TBI

Contact:
Ann Tarpy, 602-774-9147, atarpy@azdes.gov

Colorado

Grantee: Colorado Department of Human Services
Project: Colorado Brain Injury Program

Contacts:
Judy Dettmer, 303-866-4085, judy.dettmer@state.co.us 
Regina Rodriguez, 303-866-4779, regina.rodriguez@state.co.us

Idaho

Grantee: Idaho State University—Institute of Rural Health

Contact:
Russell Spearman, 208-373-1773, spearuss@isu.edu

Indiana

Grantee: Indiana Department of Correction
Project: Traumatic Brain Injury State Implementation Partnership Grant Program

Contacts:
Frances Osburn, 317-232-5711, fosburn@idoc.in.gov 
Melanie Jimerson,(317)  233-0677, mjimerson@idoc.in.gov
Lena Hackett, 317-423-1770, lena@communitysolutionsinc.net

Iowa

Grantee: Iowa Department of Public Health

Contacts:
Cheryl Christie, cheryl.christie@idph.iowa.gov
Kathy Stone, 515-281-8021, kathy.stone@idph.iowa.gov
Maggie Ferguson, 515-281-8465, maggie.ferguson@idph.iowa.gov 

Maine

Grantee: Maine Office of Aging and Disability Services
Project: State of Maine TBI Implementation Partnership Grant

Contact:
Toni Wall, 207-287-6338toni.g.wall@maine.gov

Massachusetts

Grantee: Massachusetts Rehabilitation Commission
Project: Statewide Head Injury Program: Improving MA Systems of Care for Elders Sustaining a TBI Project

Contacts:
Sandy Biber, sandy.biber@massmail.state.ma
Gabby Lawrence-Soto, 617-204-3662, Gabriela.Lawrence-Soto@MassMail.State.MA.US 

Missouri

Grantee: Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, Division of Community and Public Health
Project: Missouri TBI Project

Contacts:
Bret Fischer, grants@health.mo.gov
Venice Wood, 573-751-6446, venice.wood@health.mo.gov 
Dean Anderson, 573-751-6423, dean.andersen@health.mo.gov

Nebraska

Grantee: Nebraska  Vocational Rehabilitation and Brain Injury Advisory Council
Project: Access 4 All

Contacts:
Keri Bennett, 308-865-5012, keri.bennett@nebraska.gov
Tresa Christensen, 308-865-5023, tresa.christensen@nebraska.gov

New Hampshire

Grantee: New Hampshire Bureau of Developmental Services
Project: TBI Playbook

Contacts:
John Capuco, 603-271-5161, jcapuco@dhhs.state.nh.us 
John Lichtenstein, Johnathan.D.Lichtenstein@hitchcock.org
Ellen Edgerly, 603-332-9891, ellenedge@metrocast.net 

New York

Grantee: New York Department of Health, Division of Long Term Care
Project: New York State Traumatic Brain Injury Program

Contacts:
Mark Kissinger, 518-402-5673, mark.kissinger@health.ny.gov 
Jessica Preston, Jessica.Preston@healthresearch.org

North Carolina

Grantee: NC Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Mental Health
Project: NC Primary Health & Behavioral Health Partnerships & Training

Contact:
Scott Pokorny, 919-715-2255, Scott.Pokorny@dhhs.nc.gov

Ohio

Grantee: Ohio Valley Center for Brain Injury Prevention & Rehabilitation
Project: Ohio Brain Injury Program

Contact:
John Corrigan, 614-293-3830, johncorrigan1@me.com
Monica Lichi, 614-293-3802, monica.lichi@osumc.edu

Pennyslvania

Grantee: Pennsylvania Department of Health
Project: Pennsylvania TBI Program

Contacts:
Carolyn Cass, 717-772-2762, ccass@pa.gov 
Nicole Adams,717-772-2762, nicadams@pa.gov
Mike Yakum, 717-547-3380, myakum@pa.gov

Tennessee

Grantee: Tennessee Department of Health
Project: Project BRAIN-ET (Education and Transition)

Contacts:
Jean Doster, 615-741-1230, jean.doster@tn.gov 
Paula Denslow, 615-383-9442 x8616
paula_d@tndisability.org

Virginia

Grantee: Virginia Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services
Project: Facilitating Access to Care and Enhancing Services (FACES) in Virginia

Contacts:
Patti Goodall, 804-662-7615, patti.goodall@dars.virginia.gov 
Donna Cantrell, 804-662-7069, Donna.Cantrell@dars.virginia.gov

West Virginia

Grantee: Center for Excellence in Disabilities (CED) at West Virginia University (WVU)
Project: TBI Implementation Partnership Grant Program

Contacts:
Teresa McCourt, 304-290-1380, tmccourt@hsc.wvu.edu 
Brandi Robinson, 877-724-8244, brobins5@hsc.wvu.edu


Last modified on 11/14/2017


Back to Top